Gary Quackenbush's gear?

SRC's Lead Guitarist

Gary Quackenbush's gear?

Postby Enaitz » Wed Feb 15, 2012 1:11 am

Good morning.

I'm an spanish amateur guitar player in love with Gary Quackenbush's sound. I've been trying to find a fuzz pedal which sounds as close as possible to his SRC recordings (I specially like the glorious riff on Interval) but most modern fuzz pedals doesn't sound even close to him.

After trying a lot, I think that he may used a Gibson Maestro fuzz, a Fuzzrite or maybe one of the very first MK1 Tonebenders (both discontinued years ago) but the closest I've been able to get is with Bigfoot FX Spaghetti Western Fuzz (a modern homemade pedal), which does the trick very well for me.

Even when I'm not thinking on replacing the Spaghetti Western Fuzz, I would really love to know about the gear used on that early years, guitars, pedals, amplifiers etc. and how it has evolved with the years, just for historical purposes (I know his sound is on his hands, not on his gear).

I'm unsure about if Mr Quackenbush could be available for direct asking, but we could even know something about it by looking to an old photography of his pedalboard or, if someone from the US is lucky enough to see him live, by taking a direct photography of his actual pedalboard.

Does anybody know?
Enaitz

Re: Gary Quackenbush's gear?

Postby KFox01 » Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:40 am

Dear Enaitz,